Connected Learning

The Key to Success

Board of Trustees

Trustees have three core functions of governance:-

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the Trust and its pupils, and the performance management of its staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the Trust and ensuring best value at all times

Trustees meet at least once a term. Please click the arrow to view the trustee’s credentials.

Jane Bass – CEO / Executive Headteacher

Claire Brazier – Chief Operations Officer

JoAnn Williams - Chair of the Board

  • Former Mayor of Witham 2017-2018
  • Witham Town Councillor
  • Trustee, Citizens Advice Bureau
  • Member, Witham & District Lioness Club
  • Member of several committees on crime and local youths

Don Burton

  • Associate at Anglia Ruskin University and the Open University (in both a teaching and consulting capacity)
  • Ex-Staff Governor at Anglia Ruskin University
  • Governor, Doddinghurst Junior School

Nicholas Redfern

  • Taught in Norfolk after training as a teacher in 1982
  • Then worked in the City of London for 26 years as an investment banker
  • Has taught part time ‘financial awareness’ to Yrs5 and 6 at Powers Hall Academy

Susan Sings

  • Ex-Vice-Chair of Governors of Witham Joint Local Governing Body
  • Ex-Executive Chair of Connected Learning Board of Trustees
  • Previous senior manager at Anglia Ruskin University

Bruce Tuxford

  • Ex-Chair of Governors at Iceni Academy
  • Vice Chair, Connected Learning MAT
  • Member, Essex Schools Forum
  • Independent Panel Member for school appeals

Colin Willett

  • Head of Strategic Business Development – TSP Legal

2019/20 Trustee attendance at Board of Trustees’ meetings (including Board and Strategy meetings):-

Mrs Jane Bass (CEO) – 6 out Of 7
Mr Simon Webb (CLO) – 4 out of 7
Mrs Claire Brazier (COO) – 4 out of 7
Mr Rowland Costin (Board Chair) – 7 out of 7
Mr Bruce Tuxford (Vice Board Chair) – 5 out of 7
Mrs Susan Sings -7 out of 7
Mr  Nick Redfern – 5 out of 7
Mr Don Burton – 7 out of 7
Mrs JoAnn Williams 6 out 6 (joined the Board in October 2019)

2019/20 Trustee attendance at Standards Committee meetings (three meetings were cancelled due to Covid-19):-

Mrs Jane Bass (CEO) – 3 out of 3
Mr Simon Webb (CLO) – 3 out of 3
Mrs Susan Sings (Committee Chair) – 3 out of 3
Mr Don Burton – 3 out of 3
Mr Bruce Tuxford – 3 out of 3

2019/20 Trustee attendance at Audit, Finance & Premises Committee (two meetings were cancelled due to Covid-19):-

Mr Don Burton (Committee Chair) – 2 out of 2
Mrs Susan Sings – 2 out of 2
Mr Bruce Tuxford – 2 out of 2
Mr Rowland Costin (Board Chair) – 2 out of 2
Mr Nick Redfern – 2 out of 2

Other Links

Powers Hall Academy

Spa Road

T: 01376 513322
Company Registration No: 8579939

© 2016 Powers Hall Academy. All rights reserved. Responsive Design